Malaysian Public Holidays

Hi our dear clients and friends,

Here is a listing of the public holidays in Malaysia in 2020

[* marks holidays which are subject to change]

Date Day Holiday States
1 Jan Wed New Year’s Day National except Johor,
Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis
& Terengganu
14 Jan Tue YDPB Negeri Sembilan’s Birthday Negeri Sembilan
25 Jan Sat Chinese New Year National
26 Jan Sun Chinese New Year Holiday National
27 Jan Mon Chinese New Year Holiday National except Johor
& Kedah
1 Feb Sat Federal Territory Day Kuala Lumpur, Labuan
& Putrajaya
8 Feb Sat Thaipusam Johor, Kuala Lumpur,
Negeri Sembilan, Penang,
Perak, Putrajaya &
Selangor
4 Mar Wed Installation of Sultan Terengganu Terengganu
22 Mar Sun Israk and Mikraj Kedah, Negeri Sembilan,
Perlis & Terengganu
23 Mar Mon Sultan of Johor’s Birthday Johor
23 Mar Mon Israk and Mikraj Holiday Negeri Sembilan &
Perlis
10 Apr Fri Good Friday Sabah & Sarawak
15 Apr Wed Declaration of Melaka as a Historical City Melaka
24 Apr Fri Awal Ramadan Johor, Kedah &
Melaka
26 Apr Sun Sultan of Terengganu’s Birthday Terengganu
26 Apr Sun Awal Ramadan Holiday Johor & Kedah
1 May Fri Labour Day National
3 May Sun Labour Day Holiday Johor & Kedah
7 May Thu Hari Hol Pahang Pahang
7 May Thu Wesak Day National
10 May Sun Nuzul Al-Quran National except Johor,
Kedah, Melaka, Negeri
Sembilan, Sabah &
Sarawak
11 May Mon Nuzul Al-Quran Holiday Kuala Lumpur, Labuan,
Pahang, Penang, Perak,
Perlis, Putrajaya &
Selangor
24 May Sun Hari Raya Aidilfitri National
25 May Mon Hari Raya Aidilfitri Holiday National
26 May Tue Hari Raya Aidilfitri Holiday National except Johor,
Kedah, Kelantan &
Terengganu
30 May Sat Harvest Festival Labuan & Sabah
31 May Sun Harvest Festival Holiday Labuan & Sabah
1 Jun Mon Hari Gawai Sarawak
1 Jun Mon Harvest Festival Holiday Labuan & Sabah
2 Jun Tue Hari Gawai Holiday Sarawak
6 Jun Sat Agong’s Birthday National
7 Jun Sun Agong’s Birthday Holiday Kelantan & Terengganu
21 Jun Sun Sultan of Kedah’s Birthday Kedah
7 Jul Tue Georgetown World Heritage City Day Penang
11 Jul Sat Penang Governor’s Birthday Penang
17 Jul Fri Raja Perlis’ Birthday Perlis
22 Jul Wed Sarawak Day Sarawak
30 Jul Thu Sultan of Pahang’s Birthday Pahang
30 Jul Thu Arafat Day Terengganu
31 Jul Fri Hari Raya Haji National
1 Aug Sat Hari Raya Haji Holiday Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis
& Terengganu
2 Aug Sun Hari Raya Haji Holiday Kelantan & Terengganu
20 Aug Thu Awal Muharram National
31 Aug Mon Merdeka Day National
16 Sep Wed Malaysia Day National
24 Sep Thu Hari Hol Almarhum Sultan Iskandar Johor
3 Oct Sat Sabah Governor’s Birthday Sabah
9 Oct Fri Melaka Governor’s Birthday Melaka
10 Oct Sat Sarawak Governor’s Birthday Sarawak
29 Oct Thu Prophet Muhammad’s Birthday National
6 Nov Fri Sultan of Perak’s Birthday Perak
11 Nov Wed Sultan of Kelantan’s Birthday Kelantan
12 Nov Thu Sultan of Kelantan’s Birthday Holiday Kelantan
14 Nov Sat Deepavali National except Sarawak
15 Nov Sun Deepavali Holiday Kelantan & Terengganu
11 Dec Fri Sultan of Selangor’s Birthday Selangor
25 Dec Fri Christmas Day National
27 Dec Sun Christmas Holiday Johor & Kedah